Migration And Urbanization

Two days ago I was with my colleagues in the discharge of official duties at the office. As we were there we were approached by a man who looked so much weak and weary that we were able to figure out that something was wrong with his being.

One of us welcomed him and asked him what had brought him to us, and he said;

“I am coming from Zomba City, but I originally come from Mzimba.”

But we were very curious to learn more from him. And he proceeded to tell us that he had gone to work in that city at somebody’s household a few years ago, but what he had expected was contrary to what he went through there. He was poorly paid, and in some moths his employer could only give him used clothes as payments.

“What I need now is your support so that I can proceed to my homeland, Mzimba, because I don’t have money for transport.” Asked how he had travelled from the city to Ntcheu, he said he had only a little which he had used.

From what he had narrated the sole reason for his migration was to search for a better life which he did not find. Of course without prejudice the man had done himself some psychosocial harm. In fact he didn’t have to move in a bid to satisfy his needs. Suffice to admit herein that it all depends on one’s wishes and/or plans.

In the years that I was not employed by the government it did not occur to me as a way of mitigating social challenges that I would have to go to the urban. In lieu thereof I made up my mind that I should embark on other alternative income generating activities like commercial farming. Otherwise we must learn to use the locally available resources than to move to the urban areas.

Why Migration?!

Having submitted as such in the last preceding paragraph, I am tempted to suggest that our country does not benefit much from commercial farming because:

The produce are not bought at the best prices. And this is one of the many reasons that discourage small scale farmers from working harder;
Secondly they have little or no access to loans from the country’s commercial banks which might enable them to maximize the farming output.

Farmers whose roles are very paramount as regards the food basket and/or economy of this nation continue to live in the social economic  darkness…Well, probably one day the sun will shine upon them in the name of Jesus. Amen.

Leave a Reply

